From extrovert to introvert

When I asked my mom years ago if I was extrovert or introvert she said; ''You are the most extrovert a person could be!''
 
Before the age of 23 I was the life of the party. I loved being around other people about 100% of the time and in those situations I refilled my energy. I had a LOT of friends and I made sure to stay in touch with all of them always making new plans so that my callender was never empty. In fact, I hated being alone. I just couldnt stand my own company.
I was out and about every friday to sunday and there was not even the slightest chance that I would stay home and do absolutely nothing! That was the worst thing that could happen to me and I would be bored out of my mind.
So I attended every party, dinner, and other social event I was invited to. My favorite hobby was to meet new people and make new friends, I never had a dull moment in these situations and I was always ready for the next one! Honestly, I was a bit extreme. I used this as a way to escape my negative feelings.
 
Until anxiety hit me.
 
Suddenly, there was no more energy. I went from being booked weeks ahead to being totally isolated. For the fist time I had to stop and reflect over my own feelings and how I was living my life. Who was I? what did I really value? What made me feel good? 
For almost a whole year I had to practice enjoying my own company as I was afraid to leave my house because of all the panic attacks I was having. And slowly all the nights out were traded by nights in  with movies and other chill activities with only a hand full of people. Slowly, I even started to enjoy and appreciate this quality time I now had with myself and my own thoughts. 
 
Today I will 8 times out of 10 choose to do something more relaxing alone than to meet a lot of people or go out. Being social still gives me energy but not when there is too many people arund. That drains me more than it uplifts me. I now know my boundaries and I respect them. There is a whole other balance in my life in general and the more I figured out what really worked for me the more the anxiety went away. 
 
I just think its interesting what a radical change this has been for me cause I would never have guessed that I would one day rather read a book for 4 hours on a saturday night than go clubbing. Its funny how an experience can shake you to the core and completely transform the way you look at things.
 
When I look back on how I was living then without pauses I dont miss it. I had a lot of fun but I didnt feel good deep down. I needed more balance in my life and im still working on that.
Today I am a mix of extrovert and introvert. It was a long journey back from anxiety to find balance between these two but it was necessary for my wellbeing. 
 
Has any of you gone from one of these to the oppisite? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Kommentera inlägget här: